

Entries for the 2024 awards are open from 3 June to 31 July 2024.



A R Bluett Memorial Award

The A R Bluett Memorial Award is highly coveted each year by councils in NSW that would like to be recognised as having made the most progress in excellence, innovation and sustainability. Entry is open to all NSW councils irrespective of size or resources. The Award Trustees encourage NSW councils to enter this prestigious award and are interested in all aspects of council operations and services.



Who was Albert Robert Bluett?

Albert Robert Bluett was an outstanding figure in local government, serving as the Secretary and Solicitor to the Local Government and Shires Associations of NSW for 30 years. He was the authority on local government law, and his opinion was respected by the legal profession and Ministers of the Crown. He helped to write the Local Government Act 1919.

Following Bluett's death in April 1944, the councils of NSW subscribed to a fund as a permanent memorial to his work. This money funds the bronze plaques, awarded to the winning councils each year. His legacy also lives on through Bluett Local Government Handbook often referred to as the local government bible.



Categories for Councils

There are two categories for the Bluett Awards:

City and Regional Councils - this includes city, metropolitan and major regional rural councils.

Rural Councils - this includes all other rural councils. The Trustees believe the two categories provide fairness and equity for all councils, while at the same time preserving the original intent of the Trust Deed to judge councils on relative progress.







A R BLUETT MEMORIAL TRUSTEES



LES McMAHON
Trust Chairman



GENIA McCAFFERY



PAUL BRAYBROOKS

How to enter

Entries for the 2024 Awards are open from are open from Monday 3 June until Wednesday 31 July. Entries can be submitted via the online portal.

General purpose councils that are members of Local Government NSW are eligible to enter.

An entry fee of \$850 is payable to cover the costs incurred in judging and administering the award. On receipt of the council's entry in the Award, Local Government NSW, on behalf of the Trustees, will invoice your council.

The Trustees favour neat, concise entries that tell the council's story and highlight its progress, projects and achievements. Councils are requested to adhere to the guidelines of limiting the entry to 1000 words for each principal activity and only one photograph (if necessary) for each project or significant achievement. For technical difficulties, please contact LGNSW on 02 9242 4063.

How is it judged?

At the end of the financial year, the Trustees invite councils to submit an entry. Councils are requested to detail their achievements, using statistical information and other evidence of progress. All entries are judged independently and objectively by each Trustee, who then meet to deliberate on their findings and select councils that may be shortlisted for inspection and presentations.

The winning councils will be announced at the LGNSW Annual Conference at Tamworth on 17 -19 November 2024.

Stephen Ward Scholarship

The awards also include the official presentation of the prestigious Stephen Ward Scholarship.

The Stephen Ward Scholarship of up to \$5,000 shall be made available to at least one employee from each of the Bluett Award winning councils. The scholarships are open to all council employees to undertake further study, professional development or research.

The Stephen Ward Scholarship was established as a memorial to Stephen Ward, who was the Shires Association President from 1991 to 1993 and was involved in local government from 1985.

The funds for the Stephen Ward Scholarship were raised from contributions from councils, government agencies, professional associations, some individuals, as well as LGNSW to set up a scholarship fund.

Further information

See the <u>Local Government NSW website</u> or contact Trust Chairman Les McMahon via phone 0412 303 719 or email mcmahon.les@gmail.com.